Samuel Pepys blue plaque in Stevenage

The Grange. Formerly the Swann Inn, this building held pride of place among Stevenage inns. Samuel Pepys stayed here in 1667 and it was reputed to be the first stop for couples from London, on their way north to Gretna Green.

Samuel Pepys PRS, MP, JP, (/ˈpiːps/; 23 February 1633 – 26 May 1703) was an English naval administrator and Member of Parliament who is now most famous for the diary he kept for a decade while still a relatively young man. Although Pepys had no maritime experience, he rose by patronage, hard work and his talent for administration, to be the Chief Secretary to the Admiralty under both King Charles II and subsequently King James II.His influence and reforms at the Admiralty were important in the early professionalisation of the Royal Navy.The detailed private diary Pepys kept from 1660 until 1669 was first published in the 19th century, and is one of the most important primary sources for the English Restoration period. It provides a combination of personal revelation and eyewitness accounts of great events, such as the Great Plague of London, the Second Dutch War and the Great Fire of London.

Source: dbpedia

Local area map loading...
All plaques in Stevenage

Tell us what you know about Samuel Pepys blue plaque in Stevenage

BluePlaquePlaces.co.uk is a Good Stuff website.